creative junior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Do you do what you love? Or do you love what you do?

with one comment

Which comes first? Aren’t they the same? It seems a bit chicken/egg doesn’t it (and the chicken came first for fucks sake, who the hell thinks that an egg is just going to be chilling there egging out by itself?) . A lot of people talk about how working in creative is an amazing thing. Is that because they came from being an accountant/PR worker/bike messenger and know how boring life could be? Or did you start creating wild pieces of writing, start thinking of amazing ways to engage people through creative technology and keep up on this path until you just happened to get offered a job in creative media? Did you take a copywriting class and fall in love? Or did you just always love writing?

I fall into the ‘love what I do’ category. I studied theatre, arts, PR, literature and never found something that clicked. I came in 10 minutes late to Charles G Schaefer’s copywriting class (I think he works here now) at QUT and was instantly hit with the question, “Give me a funny reason why you’re late and I might not hate you for the rest of the semester”. I can’t remember what I said, but (from what I can gather) it was enough to not be hated. What joy. So I started focusing on copywriting, started looking for internships, made myself known and got an internship. I worked like a mad man at the internship, worked extra but not too much extra as to annoy the bosses and, after a year or so slogging away as a creative intern, was offered a job as a Jnr. Copywriter. So now I work with good and bad clients making boring messages and brand strategies seem exciting to the 18 to 35 year old market. Some times it sucks, sometimes it rules but all the while, I know it’s a fuck load better than making chicken supremo burgers at Nandos.

Written by Michael Beveridge

January 14, 2011 at 6:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know where you live now 🙂

    jiveny

    January 19, 2011 at 8:42 am


Leave a Reply

