creative junior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Kick life in the neck.

with one comment

So I’ve just finished up my first week at my new agency and I guess I’m having a quick reflection of how things are and how making a work change can really give you a kick in the face regarding the way you go about things. I’d been at my old agency for 2 years and had steadily changed from a starry-eyed intern who was ready to win a Gold Lion with every brief to jaded creative who got comfortable with his position, became disheartened with the amount of (seemingly) good ideas that got canned by clients and opting to do safe work over crazy concepts all for the sake of saving everyone in the office time due to the inevitable “can we just get a bigger logo”. I loved working at the old shop, but the thought of changing places was just way too exciting to turn down.

The idea of learning completely new processes, working with new, more experienced people who’ve come from all over the place like Junior, DDB, SapientNitro and PublicisMojo and getting direction from what is considered one of the best creative teams in Brisbane was far too alluring. I don’t really like the word alluring actually. Let’s just say it was ‘heaps cool’.

The office environment is fantastic, the new processes for handling job are a welcome change and my design partner and I are quickly figuring out how to work with each other and get cool shit happening.

So yeah, I guess what I’m trying to say is that you feel like you’re in a creative rut, get up and do something about it. A change is way better than a holiday because holidays stop. Get a positive state of mind about what you’re doing and where you’re going and things won’t stop happening. Unless you’re a really shit person, then you should just go do marketing or something.

Written by Michael Beveridge

August 23, 2011 at 5:59 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad things are working out so well, they sounds like a great agency!

    *Coughs* Like I studied marketing? 😉

    Kristina Edwards

    September 5, 2011 at 6:21 am


Leave a Reply

