creative junior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

What to do if you’re a copywriter on Valentine’s Day.

with 3 comments

So I get paid twice monthly, once on the 15th and again on the 30th. As you know, Valentine’s Day falls on the 14th, and needless to say I’d spent all my money on shiny buttons and doo-dads by the 12th, so my girlfriend’s chances of getting a fancy gift come the 14th were looking slim.

“But Michael!”, you shout, “Why didn’t you plan ahead?”

Because I’m a big ol’ salty dickhead, that’s why.

So anyway, I was tapping away at work, doing something when a brief landed on my desk asking to promote an ‘Ultimate Couples Retreat’ for a fancy 5-star resort client.

Long story short, I figured out a pretty nifty way to answer the clients brief whilst also giving my girlfriend a pretty cute Valentine’s Day present.

Full page, inside front cover of 250,000+ circulation weekend newspaper. Successful man is successful.

Oh yeah, needless to say she’s neither Cleopatra or Juliet.

Written by Michael Beveridge

February 14, 2012 at 2:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you my friend. are awesome.

    Brienne

    February 14, 2012 at 4:44 am

  2. Someone is getting lucky tonight! And probably tomorrow night.

    Zoe

    February 14, 2012 at 5:07 am

  3. As a freelance copywriter myself I can only nod and smile in admiration. Loving your work. My own last-minute response was more private but equally successful: I wrote my wife a poem for the very first time. An acrostic with a romantic theme. She loved it.

    Have a great Valentine’s Day Sir. You’ve earned it.

    Gareth Cook

    February 14, 2012 at 10:34 am


Leave a Reply

